Beethoven’s Great Fugue


Beethoven’s great fugue is final movement to his opus 130 string quartet. It is a wild piece of music, a crazy experiment in dissonance that once bloomed an era. As per Stravinsky, this piece will forever remain contemporary.

Stephen Malinowski, a musician, has created a graphical music machine that illustrates the score. Each thematic element is encoded with its own graphics. His machine was demonstrated at a performance of Beethoven’s Great Fugue at Annenberg Auditorium by Palo Alto Chamber Orchestra.


The audience was astounded by the visuals and surrendered to the wonderful chaos of the music.

More of Malinowski’s work can be seen here:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s